Something Old, Something New

I love technology. The more the world begins to look and feel like the Jetsons, the more I like it. My wife and I bought our kids an Xbox Kinect game system for Christmas. I’m not a big fan of game consoles as they tend to suck the life out of children and turn them into zombies, but we have been good about limiting the time they can use the system, so it works for now. One of the unexpected bonuses that came with the Kinect is the ability to video chat live with other Kinect owners using your TV. A couple weeks ago, we sat in our living room and video chatted with my Dad, his wife, and his step-sons from Napa, CA in their living room. We were able to talk freely, and see everyone clearly. My kids were able to show their Grandpa Mo their Christmas gifts and he was able to see how they’ve grown since he last saw them. I couldn’t help but feel that the world portrayed in the Scifi films of my childhood are now reality. Technology is allowing my family to communicate in a way that is more personal and real than a phone call or email. It is one of the ways technology is improving my life and that of my family.

Technology has a dark side too. The more we rely on gadgets, and internet, and smart-phones, the less we are able to function without them. There is a real peril in being so dependent on technology, but I am also aware that this has been true for the last thousand years. The alternative is to move away from technology, and actively shun the use of it. There are people who are doing so, but I choose not to be one of them. Don’t get me wrong, I love old things too. Simple, mechanical, and tested gadgets of old are really appealing to me. Old cars, old books, old tools, and of course, old houses are of particular interest. My grandfather grew much of the food his family ate. He was not a farmer, he just loved to grow things, and I would really love to be able to do the same. There is an earthy poetry to being self sufficient, and it may be a valuable skill should there ever be a technological apocalypse. Until then, however; I embrace technology.

Buying and selling Real Estate in Artesia, or anywhere for that matter, is increasingly a technology driven endeavor. More than ever, buyers are deciding what to buy and where based on what they can find, see, and research on the internet. This fact explains the explosion of Real Estate related websites with feature-rich content, pictures, and local data. The internet is the new Real Estate Agency. Brick and mortar agencies are fast becoming click-and mortar enterprises, and more than ever depend on technology. That said, I have a real affinity for the living, breathing Realtor who cares and works and serves his clients with passion. A set of silicon chips and fiber-optic network will never be personally invested in the purchase or sale of your home or business. The land left to you by your grandfather will never get sold to the right buyers who will love it like you do by http://www.vacantland.com(not a real website). I will, I am, and I do. Real Estate at some level will always involve people who know the process and can shepherd the deal to closing.

I like to think I have achieved a balance of old and new. Nothing can replace the face-to-face relationship between agent and client, but I am employing technology to enhance my listings and market them to new and untapped markets. I blog, I facebook, I tweet, I’m linkedIn, but I can talk your face off too in the coffee shop if we meet there. I love and use technology as a tool, but I still love to interact in person the way it used to be done. So call me, or text, or tweet, or grab me by the shoulder at the gas station. Let’s talk.

All Real Estate, All the Time

Leave a Reply

